Quick – turn there!

All my life I’ve been captivated by jags in the road calling out to me to follow them. This is not an abstract entreaty I’m talking about here. I’m really on the road, or street, or highway. I actually see paths down the side of the road or highway that call out to me to follow them. Louisiana was a real problem, as they were mostly all actually on the water entering the bayou, so I would need to get a boat. I never got the boat, and I still regret it. Maybe someday I’ll be back down there and slather myself with bug killer and hire a boatman to take me through some of those roads not traveled.
But who has time for all this veering off of the prearranged path? I’m in the car, can’t see a parking place, too many things to get done to take the time. But now I’m making a conscious effort to take those paths whenever I see them. It’s a blessing that I spend so much time with my daughter, because she is an artistic soul who feels the same. My favorite “Patism” the last few years is “you are where you are supposed to be”. And I truly believe that. Today on my walk I noticed this path and decided that’s where I should be. And look what I found!
We have so many mini crossroads in our lives. What we choose to do at those times can make the difference between living our lives and embellishing our existence. Even the most mundane life need not be bland or banal. Our lives are what we make of them, and most of us are in complete control of our own happiness.

20131126-155801.jpg

20131126-155822.jpg

20131126-160111.jpg

About keaneonlife

I will use this blog to reach out creatively, document the things I'm doing, what makes me happy, excited, hopeful, and maybe sometimes what makes me sad. I'll try not to bore you. I am a mother; a grandmother; a lover of my dog Aidan McCree; a glass fuser; jewelry maker; an aspiring content editor for independent authors; a retired paralegal; a soul who thinks she has something to say in writing; a volunteer for Portland Open Studios; a friend to just a few and an acquaintance of many.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quick – turn there!

  1. Marian Jensen says:

    Enjoyed your blog…will return to read more!
    Marian

Leave a Reply

