Young at heart

imageThis is such an appropriate topic for me. I’m recently retired and have spent some time contemplating this subject. Lots of aches and pains. Forgetting all the words. All I really want to do is lay around on the couch and read or watch TV.
But that won’t do. I’m smart enough to know where that road leads. So left brained me started a mental list of what I needed to do to stay the sands of time.
Now that I have time, I’m looking for artistic outlets. I don’t have to be good at it, but I find the more I do artistically, the happier I am. And learning new things always keeps the brain from atrophying. So I make jewelry, dabble in paints; I’m learning to fuse glass. I’m volunteering with Portland Open Studios. And I’m finally going to stretch my writing skills.
Exploring. Long walks with Aidan McCree. What I hope to do a lot of when it gets a little warmer is find walks along the Willamette or the Columbia. Helping me stay young in so many ways.  Also, I want to just get in the car and start exploring Oregon. I’ve been here way too long to still not know this state by heart. There is so much to see. I’m gIrving up the hope that I will find someone who wants to travel with me.  I am enough.
But the biggest and most important and most fun I have in my quest for staying young is my grandson Logan. I help my daughter with him 3 days a week. He helps me see the world through such a young and colorful prism.

About keaneonlife

I will use this blog to reach out creatively, document the things I'm doing, what makes me happy, excited, hopeful, and maybe sometimes what makes me sad. I'll try not to bore you. I am a mother; a grandmother; a lover of my dog Aidan McCree; a glass fuser; jewelry maker; an aspiring content editor for independent authors; a retired paralegal; a soul who thinks she has something to say in writing; a volunteer for Portland Open Studios; a friend to just a few and an acquaintance of many.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Young at heart

  1. How lovely. You are so right to do so. Life is short, enjoy every moment, especially those spent with your grandson.

Leave a Reply

