Introversion

Carol, at Wanderings of an Illusive Mind,  looked at leaves and was inspired to write a post about the facades we show the world.  She used as the bridge  a Joni Mitchell song, “Clouds” (I really don’t know leaves at all), which I thought was very inventive.

It was very thought provoking for me, as I have had a “public face” all my life.   Very few people know the real me.   Not because I’m hiding any dark secrets, I have just been very private all my life.  Which leads me to wonder why.  I find that many people are the same way.  That’s why I say on my About page that I am friends with very few and acquaintances of many.  Those few friends know me inside and out, and that’s a good thing, because someone needs to.  The rest of humanity don’t really need to know who I am.  I’m not running for office.   And sometimes, when I’m in a group of people, I have to wonder why this person I’ve just met is telling me all about her aches and pains and son in law who is just not good enough for her daughter.   What does she think her daughter would say if she could overhear her telling a stranger these private thoughts.

I guess we’re all different.  And that, too, is a good thing.

About keaneonlife

I will use this blog to reach out creatively, document the things I'm doing, what makes me happy, excited, hopeful, and maybe sometimes what makes me sad. I'll try not to bore you. I am a mother; a grandmother; a lover of my dog Aidan McCree; a glass fuser; jewelry maker; an aspiring content editor for independent authors; a retired paralegal; a soul who thinks she has something to say in writing; a volunteer for Portland Open Studios; a friend to just a few and an acquaintance of many.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Introversion

  1. Carol says:

    Thank you for the mention. Perhaps keeping parts of our selves a mystery adds a bit to the allure.

Leave a Reply

